SaaS directory
Best Applicant Tracking Systems: 12 tools compared for 2026
An applicant tracking system (ATS) manages the hiring process: posting jobs to boards, collecting applications, moving candidates through stages, scheduling interviews and storing candidate data. Many also offer offer letters, reporting and compliance features.
- Tools compared
- 12
- Publish prices
- 7 of 12
- Free plan or trial
- 4 of 12
- Median G2 rating
- 4.4
Applicant Tracking Systems at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Pricing model | Starting price | G2 rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system. | per employee | $250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that | 4.4 (5,796 reviews) | |
| Mid-size and enterprise teams that want structured interviews, scorecards and deep integrations. | custom | Contact sales | 4.4 (3,954 reviews) | |
| Teams that want ATS and sourcing CRM in one tool. | custom | Contact sales | 4.3 (2,102 reviews) | |
| Small teams and agencies that want a per-recruiter price with a free one-job plan. | per user | Free (1 active job); paid plans from about $25 per user per month billed annually per third-party sources | 4.4 (1,847 reviews) | |
| Large employers with complex high-volume hiring. | custom | Contact sales | 4.2 (989 reviews) | |
| Small businesses that want a published annual price. | flat | $1,000/yr (Hero, billed annually) | 4.4 (858 reviews) | |
| Very small teams that can live with one active job on the free plan. | flat | $0 (Bootstrap); paid from $157/mo | 4.4 (686 reviews) | |
| Small and mid-size teams that want a published price and a 15-day trial. | flat (by employee-count tier) | $299/mo (Standard, monthly billing) | 4.5 (686 reviews) | |
| Employer-branding focused hiring teams that want unlimited users. | custom | Contact sales | 4.6 (524 reviews) | |
| High-volume and mid-market to enterprise hiring. | custom | Starting at $14,995 (Essential), unit/period not stated | 4.3 (522 reviews) | |
| Growing companies wanting a collaborative ATS with SSO available as an add-on. | custom | Contact sales | 4.5 (450 reviews) | |
| Startups up to 100 employees wanting one published monthly price. | flat (by company size tier) | $400/month (All-In-One Foundations, up to 100 employees) | 4.7 (115 reviews) |
Prices as published by each vendor on October 24, 2026. "Contact sales" means no public price. G2 ratings read on the same day.
What applicant tracking systems cost per seat
| Tool | Per seat per month | Billing | Annual discount | Minimum seats | 20 users per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BambooHR | $10 to $10.25 per employee per month (Core); flat $250/mo if 25 or fewer. | Monthly and annual. | Not published | Not published | Core: 20 employees is under the 25 threshold, so $250 x 12 = $3,000 per year (flat rate) |
| Zoho Recruit | About $25 per user per month annual (Standard); third-party figure, not confirmed by the vendor. | Monthly and annual. | Vendor states annual saves two months (about 17%) | Not published | Third-party Standard annual rate: 20 x $25 x 12 = $6,000 per year (not confirmed by the vendor) |
| JazzHR | Not published | Annual only (monthly prices not published) | Up to 24% vs monthly per vendor. | Not published | Not per-seat: flat annual plan from $1,000/yr (Hero) |
| Breezy HR | Not published | Monthly and annual. | Annual includes 2 months free per vendor. | Not published | Not per-seat: Startup $157/mo x 12 = $1,884 per year at the annual rate; paid-plan user limits not stated. |
| Workable | Not published | Monthly and annual (Standard); annual only (Premier, Enterprise) | 20% on Standard per vendor. | Not published | Not per-seat: $299/mo = $3,588/yr is the entry-tier price shown; which tier a 20-person company falls in is not stated. |
| Recruitee | Not published | Monthly and annual (1-year minimum term) | 20% per vendor FAQ. | Not published | Not published |
| Ashby | Not published | Monthly and annual. | 10% (Foundations) | Not published | Flat, not per-seat: $400/month x 12 x 0.90 = $4,320 per year on annual billing, $4,800 monthly (if 20 employees fits the $400 tier shown) |
"20 users per year" is calculated only from published list prices on the plan a 20-person team would realistically need. Taxes, discounts and add-ons are not included.
Costs buyers often miss
- BambooHR: Payroll (US only); Benefits Administration (US only); Time & Attendance.
- Zoho Recruit: Customer Portal (per license, price not listed); Video interviews (per license, price not listed); Data migration.
- JazzHR: SSO $29/month; Advanced Visual Reporting (Plus add-on); Offers & eSignatures (Plus add-on).
- Breezy HR: Breezy Intelligence credits from $30/100,000; SMS credits from $41/mo; Onboard from $49/mo.
- Workable: Texting+ $89/mo; Video interviews+ $109/mo; Assessments+ $59/mo.
- Recruitee: SSO (Start, Advance); Texting; Journeys.
How to compare applicant tracking systems
- Job multiposting. Posting to many boards from one place saves recruiter time and widens reach.
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration. Scorecards and shared feedback keep managers aligned.
- Resume parsing and screening. Parsing and knockout questions cut manual review.
- Interview scheduling. Calendar sync removes back-and-forth with candidates.
- HRIS and background check integrations. Smooth handoff to onboarding and payroll avoids re-entry.
- Careers page and candidate experience. Affects application rates and employer brand.
- Pricing model and real cost. Per-seat, per-contact, per-envelope or per-device pricing changes the total cost sharply as a team grows.
- Target company size. Tools built for 10 person teams and for 1,000 person companies differ in admin controls, support and price tiers.
| Tool | Job multiposting | Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration | Resume parsing and screening | Interview scheduling | HRIS and background check integrations | Careers page and candidate experience | Pricing model and real cost | Target company size |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BambooHR | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Per employee per month by tier; flat monthly rate for 25 or fewer employees; add-on modules. | Small to mid-size; flat rates tuned to 25 or fewer employees. |
| Greenhouse | Not verified | Structured hiring with scorecards is the vendor's core positioning (not verified on a docs page) | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Quote only; three tiers (Core, Plus, Pro) priced by hiring volume, complexity and features. | Mid-size to enterprise (vendor has a dedicated enterprise page); no small-business self-serve price. |
| Lever | Not verified | Not verified | AI screening included in core platform per vendor. | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Quote only; scales with team size and hiring needs; add-ons quoted separately. | Positioned by third-party research as the 'scalable hiring' tier in Employ's lineup (mid-size) |
| Zoho Recruit | Free job boards on Free plan; premium job boards from Standard. | Candidate management, email management and talent pipeline; assignment rules from Professional. | Resume management from Standard; AI candidate matching, screening and assessments from Professional. | Interview scheduling included even on Free plan; video interviews are a paid add-on. | 50+ integrations from Standard; background checks from Professional. | Candidate portals from Professional; customer portal is a per-license add-on. | Per user per month, tiered by active job limit. | G2 reviewers are 81.8% small business. |
| iCIMS | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Quote-based. | Enterprise and mid-market (third-party) |
| JazzHR | Premium listings and syndication to more job boards available; posting limits by plan. | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Flat annual plan by job volume; usage-billed extras. | Small business; standard pricing excludes companies over 250 employees. |
| Breezy HR | Active positions can be listed on job boards and Career Portal. | Customizable scorecards from Growth. | Not verified | Self-scheduling from Startup. | HRIS integrations from Business. | Career Portal included. | Flat monthly plans per account; add-ons for AI credits, SMS, onboarding. | Small teams. |
| Workable | Not verified | Not verified | AI screening credits: 1 credit per candidate screened; 3,000 free credits on paid accounts. | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Flat price by company-size tier, plus AI credits and add-ons. | 1 to 1000+ employees, priced by tier. |
| Teamtailor | Not verified | Unlimited users on the vendor pricing page. | Teamtailor AI with unlimited usage listed as included. | Not verified | Not verified | Employer branding is core positioning; Divisions and Multi-brand Management marked Premium. | Quote-based; unlimited users and jobs. | Not verified |
| SmartRecruiters | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Interoperable with SAP SuccessFactors and other HCM suites (SAP statement) | Not verified | Four tiers; only Essential price published. | G2 reviewers note high-volume hiring fit. |
| Recruitee | Not verified | Positioned as collaborative ATS (G2 category description) | Not verified | Not verified | Tellent HR (HRIS) available as add-on; WhatsApp Hiring, Texting, Journeys, AgencyHub add-ons. | Not verified | Tiered by plan, company employee count and billing period. | Growing companies (G2 description) |
| Ashby | Not verified | Not verified | AI credits: 1,500/month on Foundations. | Advanced Scheduling is a paid add-on. | Not verified | Up to 5 brands on Foundations, unlimited on Plus and Enterprise. | Flat price by company size; add-ons for SSO, texting, AI credits, lookups. | Startups to enterprise; Foundations up to 100 employees. |
The 12 tools in detail
BambooHR
Per-employee HRIS for small and mid-size US companies with a built-in ATS capped by job openings per tier.
- Starting price
- $250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that
- Pricing model
- per employee
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (5,796 reviews)
- Pricing model and real cost
- Per employee per month by tier; flat monthly rate for 25 or fewer employees; add-on modules.
- Target company size
- Small to mid-size; flat rates tuned to 25 or fewer employees.
Choose it if
- Small and mid-size US companies that want HRIS first and light recruiting in the same system.
- Teams of 25 or fewer that benefit from the flat monthly rate.
Skip it if
- Companies that need a full-featured standalone ATS (openings capped 5, 25 or 50 by tier)
- Teams needing deep reporting or customization (common complaint)
Worth knowing
- Job openings are capped by tier: 5 (Core), 25 (Pro), 50 (Elite); the ATS is a feature, not a separate add-on.
- Companies with 25 or fewer employees pay flat $250, $425 or $650 per month.
- Payroll and Benefits Administration are US-only add-ons; bundling both saves 15% per the pricing page.
Greenhouse
Structured-hiring ATS sold in three quote-only tiers (Core, Plus, Pro) for mid-size and enterprise hiring teams.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (3,954 reviews)
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
- Structured hiring with scorecards is the vendor's core positioning (not verified on a docs page)
- Pricing model and real cost
- Quote only; three tiers (Core, Plus, Pro) priced by hiring volume, complexity and features.
- Target company size
- Mid-size to enterprise (vendor has a dedicated enterprise page); no small-business self-serve price.
Choose it if
- Mid-size and enterprise teams that want structured interviews, scorecards and deep integrations.
- Companies that need an audit log and configurable session time-outs (Pro tier only)
Skip it if
- Small teams that need a published price or a self-serve start.
- Buyers who want heavy report and scheduling customization out of the box (a common review complaint)
Worth knowing
- No prices are published: pricing page tells buyers to request a demo.
- SSO appears in every tier's plan table, but audit log, configurable session time-outs and developer sandbox are Pro only.
- Automated user management is Plus and Pro only, so Core buyers cannot automate account provisioning.
Lever
Combined ATS and recruiting CRM from Employ, sold on quote-only pricing with AI screening and interview summaries.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.3 (2,102 reviews)
- Resume parsing and screening
- AI screening included in core platform per vendor.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Quote only; scales with team size and hiring needs; add-ons quoted separately.
- Target company size
- Positioned by third-party research as the 'scalable hiring' tier in Employ's lineup (mid-size)
Choose it if
- Teams that want ATS and sourcing CRM in one tool.
- Mid-size companies already in the Employ family (Jobvite, JazzHR) looking for a step-up tier.
Skip it if
- Buyers who need published pricing.
- Teams that need native SCIM provisioning (none reported on any plan)
Worth knowing
- Owned by Employ Inc. (with Jobvite and JazzHR) since 2022; G2 lists Employ as the vendor.
- Third-party guide says SAML SSO is Enterprise only and must be enabled via Lever Support; treat as unconfirmed.
- No native SCIM on any plan per the same third-party guide (a connector from Aquera is the described route).
Zoho Recruit
Low-cost, per-recruiter ATS from Zoho with a free tier and separate staffing-agency and corporate HR editions.
- Starting price
- Free (1 active job); paid plans from about $25 per user per month billed annually per third-party sources
- Pricing model
- per user
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (1,847 reviews)
- Job multiposting
- Free job boards on Free plan; premium job boards from Standard.
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
- Candidate management, email management and talent pipeline; assignment rules from Professional.
- Resume parsing and screening
- Resume management from Standard; AI candidate matching, screening and assessments from Professional.
- Interview scheduling
- Interview scheduling included even on Free plan; video interviews are a paid add-on.
Choose it if
- Small teams and agencies that want a per-recruiter price with a free one-job plan.
- Companies already running Zoho CRM or Zoho One.
Skip it if
- Teams that need published SSO or SCIM details before buying.
- Enterprises that want a dedicated enterprise-grade ATS with deep compliance tooling.
Worth knowing
- Free plan allows only 1 active job posting.
- 15-day trial gives full Enterprise access then drops to Free without data loss.
- Premium Support (faster response, dedicated account manager), data migration, video interviews and the Customer Portal are paid add-ons.
iCIMS
Enterprise talent acquisition suite, privately held, with no public prices and separate implementation fees.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.2 (989 reviews)
- Pricing model and real cost
- Quote-based.
- Target company size
- Enterprise and mid-market (third-party)
Choose it if
- Large employers with complex high-volume hiring.
- Teams with budget for implementation services.
Skip it if
- Small businesses needing self-serve pricing.
- Teams wanting quick setup (steep learning curve per G2)
Worth knowing
- Founded 2000 by Colin Day; Vista Equity Partners acquired it in August 2018.
- Marc Thompson named CEO in May 2026 per Wikipedia mirror (unverified)
- Third-party sources cite implementation fees of $15,000 to $25,000.
JazzHR
Low-cost annual-plan ATS for small businesses, with a stated eligibility cap of about 250 employees.
- Starting price
- $1,000/yr (Hero, billed annually)
- Pricing model
- flat
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (858 reviews)
- Job multiposting
- Premium listings and syndication to more job boards available; posting limits by plan.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Flat annual plan by job volume; usage-billed extras.
- Target company size
- Small business; standard pricing excludes companies over 250 employees.
Choose it if
- Small businesses that want a published annual price.
- Teams that want quick setup and ease of use.
Skip it if
- Staffing or recruiting agencies, franchises, multi-location businesses and companies over 250 employees (excluded from standard pricing at JazzHR's discretion)
- Buyers who want monthly billing or deep customization.
Worth knowing
- Eligibility rules exclude agencies, franchises, multi-location businesses and companies over 250 employees from standard pricing.
- Offers & eSignatures is an add-on on Plus; the pricing page is inconsistent about whether Pro includes it.
- SSO is a paid add-on at $29/month on Hero, Plus or Pro (JazzHR blog/info page).
Breezy HR
Visual-pipeline ATS with a free single-job plan and published monthly prices for small teams.
- Starting price
- $0 (Bootstrap); paid from $157/mo
- Pricing model
- flat
- G2 rating
- 4.4 (686 reviews)
- Job multiposting
- Active positions can be listed on job boards and Career Portal.
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
- Customizable scorecards from Growth.
- Interview scheduling
- Self-scheduling from Startup.
- HRIS and background check integrations
- HRIS integrations from Business.
Choose it if
- Very small teams that can live with one active job on the free plan.
- Small teams wanting published prices and a 14-day trial.
Skip it if
- Teams needing SAML SSO below the Pro level.
- Buyers who need reporting flexibility (reviewer complaint)
Worth knowing
- Free Bootstrap plan has unlimited users but only one active position or pool.
- SAML SSO is limited to Pro plans (help center).
- Add-ons: Breezy Intelligence credits from $30/100,000, SMS from $41/mo, Onboard from $49/mo.
Workable
Recruiting platform with published monthly prices by company-size tier and AI credit packs for sourcing and screening.
- Starting price
- $299/mo (Standard, monthly billing)
- Pricing model
- flat (by employee-count tier)
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (686 reviews)
- Resume parsing and screening
- AI screening credits: 1 credit per candidate screened; 3,000 free credits on paid accounts.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Flat price by company-size tier, plus AI credits and add-ons.
- Target company size
- 1 to 1000+ employees, priced by tier.
Choose it if
- Small and mid-size teams that want a published price and a 15-day trial.
- Teams that want video interviews, texting and assessments bundled in higher tiers.
Skip it if
- Teams that need SSO plan detail confirmed before buying.
- Heavy AI-sourcing users who dislike credit-based add-ons.
Worth knowing
- Price depends on employee-count tier, not seats; the same plan costs more as the company grows.
- Standard add-ons: Texting+ $89/mo, Video interviews+ $109/mo, Assessments+ $59/mo, Performance & Engagement+ $39/mo; these are included on Premier and Enterprise.
- AI credit bundles: 5,000 for $600, 10,000 for $1,000, 50,000 for $4,750; credits expire after 1 year and are non-refundable.
Teamtailor
Stockholm-based ATS and employer-branding platform with unlimited users and jobs and quote-only pricing.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.6 (524 reviews)
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
- Unlimited users on the vendor pricing page.
- Resume parsing and screening
- Teamtailor AI with unlimited usage listed as included.
- Careers page and candidate experience
- Employer branding is core positioning; Divisions and Multi-brand Management marked Premium.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Quote-based; unlimited users and jobs.
Choose it if
- Employer-branding focused hiring teams that want unlimited users.
- Companies wanting SSO and user provisioning on the plan.
Skip it if
- Teams that need published prices.
- Buyers wanting heavy customization (G2 complaint)
Worth knowing
- Unlimited job postings and unlimited users per vendor pricing page.
- SSO and user provisioning listed as included.
- Requisitions and approval flows, and Divisions and multi-brand management are marked Premium.
SmartRecruiters
Enterprise-leaning ATS now owned by SAP, with a published entry price of $14,995 and quote-only higher tiers.
- Starting price
- Starting at $14,995 (Essential), unit/period not stated
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.3 (522 reviews)
- HRIS and background check integrations
- Interoperable with SAP SuccessFactors and other HCM suites (SAP statement)
- Pricing model and real cost
- Four tiers; only Essential price published.
- Target company size
- G2 reviewers note high-volume hiring fit.
Choose it if
- High-volume and mid-market to enterprise hiring.
- SAP SuccessFactors customers.
Skip it if
- Small teams with sub-$15k budgets.
- Buyers who want self-serve monthly plans.
Worth knowing
- SAP completed the acquisition on 2025-09-11.
- SmartRecruiters stays a standalone product usable with non-SAP HCMs per SAP.
- Essential tier starts at $14,995 on the vendor page, rare for enterprise ATS.
Recruitee
Collaborative ATS for growing European-style teams, now branded Tellent Recruitee, with quote-based pricing.
Rebranded: Sold as Tellent Recruitee; G2 lists it under the Tellent name and the pricing page lists a Tellent HR (HRIS) add-on.
- Starting price
- Contact sales
- Pricing model
- custom
- G2 rating
- 4.5 (450 reviews)
- Pipeline and hiring-team collaboration
- Positioned as collaborative ATS (G2 category description)
- HRIS and background check integrations
- Tellent HR (HRIS) available as add-on; WhatsApp Hiring, Texting, Journeys, AgencyHub add-ons.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Tiered by plan, company employee count and billing period.
- Target company size
- Growing companies (G2 description)
Choose it if
- Growing companies wanting a collaborative ATS with SSO available as an add-on.
- Teams that can commit to a one-year contract.
Skip it if
- Buyers who need public prices to budget.
- Teams wanting a month-to-month contract.
Worth knowing
- One-year minimum commitment even when paying monthly.
- Annual billing gives 20% discount per vendor FAQ.
- SSO is an optional add-on on Start and Advance, included only on Optimize.
Ashby
All-in-one ATS, scheduling, sourcing and analytics platform popular with fast-growing tech companies, priced $400/month for startups up to 100 employees.
- Starting price
- $400/month (All-In-One Foundations, up to 100 employees)
- Pricing model
- flat (by company size tier)
- G2 rating
- 4.7 (115 reviews)
- Resume parsing and screening
- AI credits: 1,500/month on Foundations.
- Interview scheduling
- Advanced Scheduling is a paid add-on.
- Careers page and candidate experience
- Up to 5 brands on Foundations, unlimited on Plus and Enterprise.
- Pricing model and real cost
- Flat price by company size; add-ons for SSO, texting, AI credits, lookups.
Choose it if
- Startups up to 100 employees wanting one published monthly price.
- Tech-forward teams that want analytics and sourcing in the ATS.
Skip it if
- Buyers needing SSO included in base price (paid add-on)
- Teams needing confirmed EU data residency.
Worth knowing
- SSO is a paid add-on at $100/month; Ashby supports SAML and OIDC and has no password login.
- Foundations includes 1 offer template, up to 3 custom permission roles and 200 sourcing email lookups.
- Extra candidate texts cost $90 per 1,000.
Frequently asked questions
What are applicant tracking systems?
An applicant tracking system (ATS) manages the hiring process: posting jobs to boards, collecting applications, moving candidates through stages, scheduling interviews and storing candidate data. Many also offer offer letters, reporting and compliance features.
Which applicant tracking systems publish their pricing?
7 of the 12 tools we compared publish prices: BambooHR ($250/mo flat (Core, 25 or fewer employees); $10 to $10.25 per employee per month above that); Zoho Recruit (Free (1 active job); paid plans from about $25 per user per month billed annually per third-party sources); JazzHR ($1,000/yr (Hero, billed annually)); Breezy HR ($0 (Bootstrap); paid from $157/mo); Workable ($299/mo (Standard, monthly billing)); SmartRecruiters (Starting at $14,995 (Essential), unit/period not stated); Ashby ($400/month (All-In-One Foundations, up to 100 employees)). The others quote on request, so ask for a written quote that names the seat or spend basis, the term and the renewal uplift.
Which applicant tracking systems have a free plan or free trial?
Zoho Recruit (free plan, free trial), Breezy HR (free plan, free trial), Workable (free trial) and Recruitee (free trial), according to the vendors' sites on October 24, 2026.
What do applicant tracking systems cost for a team of 20?
Calculated from published list prices: BambooHR: Core: 20 employees is under the 25 threshold, so $250 x 12 = $3,000 per year (flat rate); Zoho Recruit: Third-party Standard annual rate: 20 x $25 x 12 = $6,000 per year (not confirmed by the vendor); JazzHR: Not per-seat: flat annual plan from $1,000/yr (Hero); Breezy HR: Not per-seat: Startup $157/mo x 12 = $1,884 per year at the annual rate; paid-plan user limits not stated; Workable: Not per-seat: $299/mo = $3,588/yr is the entry-tier price shown; which tier a 20-person company falls in is not stated; Ashby: Flat, not per-seat: $400/month x 12 x 0.90 = $4,320 per year on annual billing, $4,800 monthly (if 20 employees fits the $400 tier shown). Tools that quote on request are not included.
Which applicant tracking systems are rated highest on G2?
Among tools with at least 20 G2 reviews: Ashby 4.7 from 115 reviews, Teamtailor 4.6 from 524 reviews, Workable 4.5 from 686 reviews. Ratings were read on October 24, 2026; small review counts move quickly, so read recent reviews from companies your size.