SaaS directory

8 Notion alternatives for 2026

The tools buyers compare with Notion, side by side on price, pricing model and what each one is built for.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Why teams look beyond Notion

  • Learning curve (ease of use 8.3, lowest sub-score)
  • Gaps for time tracking and resource planning.
  • Teams needing time tracking or workload planning.
  • Companies needing SCIM or audit logs below Enterprise.

From Notion's published plan limits and recurring themes in public reviews. See the Notion review for sources.

Notion vs. its alternatives

Notion and alternatives, checked October 24, 2026
ToolPricing modelStarting priceG2 ratingPricing modelTarget company sizeWorkflow automationTime tracking and budgets
Notion Currentper userFree; Plus $10 per member per month billed annually4.6 (10,967 reviews)Per member per month; yearly saves up to 20%.Two-thirds of G2 reviews from small business; Enterprise tier for large orgs.Automations for task flows and database entries.
Confluenceper userFree up to 10 users; Standard about $5.42 per user per month billed annually4.1 (4,233 reviews)Per user per month, annual, tiered by user count.Teams of all sizes; Free to 10 users, Enterprise for large deployments (up to 150 sites)
Sliteper user$10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)4.6 (271 reviews)Per user per month.G2: 64.4% of reviewers at companies of 50 or fewer.
Nuclinoper userFree (up to 50 items); paid prices not stated4.7 (24 reviews)Per user including guests.Small teams; custom plan above 100 users.
Asanaper user$10.99 per user/month billed annually (Starter)4.4 (13,232 reviews)Per user per month, annual billing cheaper.Small teams to enterprise.Unlimited automations from Starter.Timesheets and Budgets add-on on Starter; time tracking comparing estimated vs actual effort on Advanced.
ClickUpper user$9 per user/month billed annually (Core; regular $12)4.6 (13,158 reviews)Per user per month, workspace-wide upgrade; AI credits pooled, extra 10,000 credits for $10.Free tier to enterprise; Enterprise and Max for large orgs.1K automations/month on Core, 10K on Business (pricing page)Timesheets listed from Business plan.
Smartsheetper userAbout $9 per member/month billed yearly (Pro; estimate, the vendor does not clearly label monthly vs yearly prices)4.4 (22,617 reviews)Per member; contributors and guests unlimited and free; add-ons like Dynamic View (from $125/month) and Data Shuttle (from $100/month)Pro 1 to 10 members; Business 3+; Enterprise 10+.
monday.comper user$9 per seat/month billed annually (Basic), min. 3 seats4.7 (15,000 reviews)Per seat, min 3 seats, quote above 40 users.G2 Learn article reports 63% small business, 29% mid-market, 8% enterprise users.250 actions/month Standard, 25,000 Pro, 250,000 Enterprise.Time tracking on Pro.
Trelloper user$5 per user per month billed annually (Standard)4.4 (14,050 reviews)Per user per month; Free plan capped at 10 collaborators per Workspace.Small teams and departments; Enterprise tier for larger orgs.Built-in automation on every board; 250 command runs per month Free, 1,000 Standard, unlimited Premium and Enterprise.No native time tracking listed on the pricing page; third-party Power-Ups needed (G2 reviewers also mention this)

The alternatives in detail

Confluence

Atlassian's per-user wiki and team documentation tool, tightly linked to Jira and sold in Free, Standard, Premium and Enterprise tiers.

Starting price
Free up to 10 users; Standard about $5.42 per user per month billed annually
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.1 (4,233 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Real-time collaborative editing with inline and page comments.
Search and AI answers
Advanced search, labels and hierarchy; Rovo AI summarizes and explains jargon (Standard and up per third party)
Internal vs public access control
Page and space permissions for users, groups and anonymous from Standard.
Versioning and review workflows
Page history, compare and revert on Free.

Choose it if

  • Teams already on Jira or Jira Service Management.
  • Internal wikis and project documentation at any size.

Skip it if

  • Public customer-facing help centers as the main goal.
  • Buyers who need SSO without buying an extra Atlassian Guard subscription.

Worth knowing

  • Free plan caps at 10 users; Standard 1 to 10 users listed at $680 per year.
  • Atlassian raised cloud list prices on 2025-10-15 (Standard +5%, Premium +7.5%, Enterprise +7.5% to 10% per Valiantys) and again for Premium and Enterprise on 2026-10-13.
  • SAML SSO and SCIM need an Atlassian Guard subscription billed per managed user across the org (third-party sources conflict on tier)

Slite

AI-first team wiki with per-user pricing, EU data hosting and SOC 2 Type II.

Starting price
$10 per user/month billed yearly (Basic)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (271 reviews)
Search and AI answers
Ask AI search on all paid plans; Agent and cross-tool search on Pro.
Internal vs public access control
Enforced SSO and external IdPs on higher plans; public docs on custom domain (Pro)
Versioning and review workflows
Doc verification workflow on Basic.
Help desk and chat integrations
MCP and API access on Basic; search across connected tools on Pro.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams wanting an AI search wiki at a published price.
  • European buyers wanting EU-hosted data (Belgium)

Skip it if

  • Teams needing SCIM below Enterprise.
  • Customer-facing help centers (internal wiki positioning)

Worth knowing

  • Production data hosted on Google Cloud in Belgium (EU)
  • SSO via external IdP on Pro, SCIM and audit logs only on Enterprise.
  • Pro includes 50 AI credits per seat per month.

Nuclino

Lightweight wiki and workspace with a free tier and SAML SSO plus audit log on the top plan.

Starting price
Free (up to 50 items); paid prices not stated
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.7 (24 reviews)
Authoring and editing experience
Markdown-friendly editor per G2 summary.
Search and AI answers
Sidekick AI on Business; G2 complaint: search does not tolerate typos.
Internal vs public access control
Publishing, custom domain, admin tools.
Versioning and review workflows
30-day history on Starter, unlimited on Business.

Choose it if

  • Small teams wanting a simple, fast wiki with a free plan.
  • Teams that need SAML SSO at a lower tier than enterprise suites.

Skip it if

  • Teams over 100 users (custom talk needed)
  • Heavy workflow or approval needs.
  • Customer help centers.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO and audit log only on Business.
  • Guests and read-only members count toward seat totals.
  • ISO/SOC claims on the security page refer to infrastructure providers.

Asana

Work management platform with list, board, timeline and Gantt views, where resource management and portfolios start at the Advanced tier.

Starting price
$10.99 per user/month billed annually (Starter)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (13,232 reviews)
Task views and planning
List, board, calendar on Personal; timeline and Gantt from Starter.
Workflow automation
Unlimited automations from Starter.
Workload and resource management
Resource management within portfolios on Advanced; organization-wide on Enterprise.
Time tracking and budgets
Timesheets and Budgets add-on on Starter; time tracking comparing estimated vs actual effort on Advanced.

Choose it if

  • Cross-functional teams that want timelines and unlimited automations from the Starter tier.
  • Companies needing EU, Australia or Japan data hosting (Enterprise add-on)

Skip it if

  • Teams needing SAML SSO or audit logs below Enterprise.
  • Very small groups that need more than 2 users free.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO, SCIM and audit logs are Enterprise only; paid lower plans only allow requiring Microsoft SSO.
  • Data residency (Europe, Australia, Japan) is an opt-in Enterprise add-on.
  • No refunds; seat additions come in steps (1 at a time for 2-5 users, 5 up to 30, 10 up to 100)

ClickUp

All-in-one work management platform with tasks, docs, whiteboards and AI credits, sold per user with a free tier.

Starting price
$9 per user/month billed annually (Core; regular $12)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.6 (13,158 reviews)
Workflow automation
1K automations/month on Core, 10K on Business (pricing page)
Time tracking and budgets
Timesheets listed from Business plan.
Pricing model and real cost
Per user per month, workspace-wide upgrade; AI credits pooled, extra 10,000 credits for $10.
Target company size
Free tier to enterprise; Enterprise and Max for large orgs.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams that want one flexible tool replacing several apps.
  • Teams that need a free plan with unlimited members.
  • Teams comfortable configuring custom fields and automations.

Skip it if

  • Companies needing SAML SSO or SCIM without an Enterprise contract.
  • Teams wanting a simple tool with little setup (G2 complaints mention a steep learning curve)

Worth knowing

  • SAML, Okta and Microsoft SSO, SCIM and audit trails need Enterprise; Business only has Google SSO.
  • Pricing shows a promotional annual price next to a higher regular price ($17 vs $25 Business)
  • AI usage is metered: pooled credits per user, extra 10,000 credits cost $10.

Smartsheet

Spreadsheet-style work management platform with sheets, automation and enterprise governance, sold per member.

Starting price
About $9 per member/month billed yearly (Pro; estimate, the vendor does not clearly label monthly vs yearly prices)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (22,617 reviews)
Workload and resource management
Resource Management is a paid add-on on Business and Enterprise.
Integrations
Directory integrations on Enterprise; Bridge is Enterprise add-on.
Pricing model and real cost
Per member; contributors and guests unlimited and free; add-ons like Dynamic View (from $125/month) and Data Shuttle (from $100/month)
Target company size
Pro 1 to 10 members; Business 3+; Enterprise 10+.

Choose it if

  • Teams used to spreadsheets who want structured project tracking.
  • Mid-size and large organizations needing governance, SAML SSO and regional hosting.

Skip it if

  • Small teams on a tight budget (G2 reviewers often cite price)
  • Teams wanting a quick setup without learning formulas.

Worth knowing

  • SAML SSO and user provisioning (directory integrations) only on Enterprise and Advanced Work Management; Business has Google/Microsoft/Apple login.
  • Resource management, Dynamic View and Data Shuttle are paid add-ons even on Business.
  • Event reporting (six months of logs), data egress and CMEK are Enterprise add-ons.

monday.com

Board-based work management platform with a 3-seat minimum on paid plans and quote-based pricing above 40 users.

Starting price
$9 per seat/month billed annually (Basic), min. 3 seats
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.7 (15,000 reviews)
Task views and planning
Timeline/Gantt and calendar from Standard.
Workflow automation
250 actions/month Standard, 25,000 Pro, 250,000 Enterprise.
Workload and resource management
Portfolio and resource management on Enterprise.
Time tracking and budgets
Time tracking on Pro.

Choose it if

  • Small and mid-size teams that want customizable boards and many automations.
  • Teams that need data hosting in the US, Germany or Australia.

Skip it if

  • Groups larger than 40 users who want self-serve pricing (quote required)
  • Solo users or pairs needing more than the free 2-seat plan, since paid plans start at 3 seats.

Worth knowing

  • Paid plans have a 3-seat minimum; above 40 users a quote is required.
  • Per vendor FAQ monthly billing is not discounted and annual saves 18%.
  • Resource and portfolio management only on Enterprise; time tracking only from Pro.

Trello

Card-based Kanban board tool from Atlassian that stays simple for small teams and adds timeline, calendar and dashboard views on paid plans.

Starting price
$5 per user per month billed annually (Standard)
Pricing model
per user
G2 rating
4.4 (14,050 reviews)
Task views and planning
Board view on all plans; Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views on Premium and up.
Workflow automation
Built-in automation on every board; 250 command runs per month Free, 1,000 Standard, unlimited Premium and Enterprise.
Time tracking and budgets
No native time tracking listed on the pricing page; third-party Power-Ups needed (G2 reviewers also mention this)
Reporting and dashboards
Dashboard view on Premium and Enterprise.

Choose it if

  • Small teams that want a visual Kanban board with minimal setup.
  • Teams already on Atlassian products.
  • Free-tier users with up to 10 collaborators per Workspace.

Skip it if

  • Teams needing built-in time tracking or resource management.
  • Large portfolios with many dependent projects.
  • Teams wanting SSO without a separate Atlassian Guard subscription.

Worth knowing

  • Standard and Premium do not list SSO; SAML SSO needs the separate Atlassian Guard subscription (from $4 per user per month per Trello pricing page) unless on Enterprise.
  • Free plan limit is 10 collaborators per Workspace, not per board.
  • Timeline, Calendar, Table and Dashboard views start at Premium, $10 per user per month annual.

When to stay with Notion

  • Startups and small teams combining wiki and project tracking.
  • Teams wanting flexible databases and docs in one tool.